Bourbon is legally defined at the federal level, while Tennessee whiskey is a matter of state law. To be called bourbon, the whiskey must be produced within the U.S. and meet the American legal requirements for whiskey. If it’s produced within the state of Kentucky, it can be labeled as Kentucky bourbon.